A road down the memory lane

dark-maze-a-game-reminescent-of-labyrinth-courtesy-of-xda_k-meu_0

“Awake? Is he?”  asked Matt.“You have got to wind this up within 2 minutes!” replied Jacob.

“Okay, Let me think of something.  Tie him up!”

“No use Matt! If he gets up whole operation is jeopardized!” “I’ll not leave empty handed! I made this clear before and I’m repeating it. Now, bring that sedative and give him a shot! I don’t care if he is od’d!“

Jacob shoves Matt away and yells at him “You’re a good damn freak you know that? If you give him sedative, his subconscious will be all blurred up. Good luck extracting anything after that?”

“ I need to know who did it?” Sobbed Matt

“We don’t have time for this Matt, we’ll figure out a way. Come on, clear the setup and lets leave!”

“Jacob, I’m cleaning the blood stains, you stop all the downlinks and disconnect the relay. Oh shit!!” Before, they could leave, the guy was all back into consciousness. His hand straight away went in his groin  for the loaded .38. He fired the shot  right away.

24 hours earlier

“ Good morning honey. Long night, I believe ” Matt comes with a tray of coffee. “ How easy do you think it is for me to take care of myself and this 8 month old fetus when you are practically never home?” Linda replies as she frowns after tasting the coffee. “ Guess I still need to learn how to use the damn machine!” “Well, you need to learn a lot of things.” Cell phone vibrates.

“Hey, I got to take this. Hell! What is it now?” With anger he rubs his temple and says” Babe, I got to go, I’m sorry, its related to work.”

Linda frowns “In 7 in the morning? You have got to be kidding me! You are never going to take the responsibility of your daughter! Lately I get a feeling that you are you trying to avoid us!” Matt holds her arms. ” You know I’m not, it’s just that, this is a big break for me and us. Honey, we will be millionaires!” Linda sighs “What good will the money do if we can’t even spend it together? Go! What else can I say? You are not the man whom I married once!” Matt gives a brush on her lips, pulls the coat and leaves.

“Jacob tell this is going to be over soon, I’ve a domestic situation on!”

“Well, smarty pants, you have started it now all of the R & D is after you!”

“I did not know they would take so much interest in an employee of my stature!”

“Your stature has changed a lot, since you created that magic wand!”

“You are the one to talk? You motivated me like an accomplice. Anyway, to hell with it! My marriage is not going to last if these untimed calls persist!”

They enter the R & D department, a routine retinal scan followed by fingerprint and voice recognition. A computerized voice greets him “Welcome Mr. Matt Clarke!’ As they enter the room, they find all the board of members waiting for them, by the look on their faces, must have been a long wait.

“Welcome! You do realize Mr. Clarke that you are 10 minutes late?” The CEO of McGill Industries Sean McGill with a smile greets Matt. “I’m sorry, sir, but my job description did not make it clear that I’d asked to show up for work before 9!” Matt replies. “In that case, let me also remind you that you were not hired to use our R & D resources to develop a program  which none of us can use!” Everybody laughs. “Have a seat, son.” Sean invites him next to his seat.

One of the board members Mr. Simon Pyke gets up and says “Well, I’d like to start with a couple of questions. We all know the device you’ve made and we all have a faint idea about it. Will you elaborate it?” Matt gets up “Well, this device is a ‘Memory Lane’ and it is designed to intercept one’s subconscious. The concept is by connecting this device to the host’s brain, the other brain can read the neurological signals and link them up. Once the signals are synchronized, flow of neurons can be controlled by either of the brain and hence the target brain can access any part of the memory of that brain. But one thing is really important and should be taken care very precisely! The target brain must be sedated to a level such that it cannot control the neurons and hence can be fully controlled by other brain or else, it will  refuse and can serious brain damage.”

Another board member, “What if we try it on a dead brain? We can make more profit  by that!” “Sir, It only works if other brain has enough power to keep it’s neuron functional because another brain can only manage to control its own. That is why you need to properly sedate him, an overdose might cause temporarily make the brain dysfunctional.” Sean raises his hand. “Yes, sir.” “When we sedate someone, after the operation is it possible that the target does not come to know about the operation?” Matt grins and replies “Sir, this is the toughest part. Well, I call it a ‘Vision break’. Once you enter someone’s sub-conscious you can see all the memory units but cannot erase it. Will power is another thing. If we increase the power from the device which is providing the bridge energy, it can increase the power of controlling brain and exert pressure on neurons and erase some synaptic connections. That time of life is just erased and the host has no idea. Now this memory lane can be filled up by fake incidents and brain will make new connections on its own. The target will never know what he did!” Simon questions “What if someone erases you?” “No, this cannot happen, I’ve designed the device in such manner that if any brain is connected to me, the command will override and make the other brain host on its own!”

Sean frowns “What a power to own!”

Matt generously replies “Sir, It is to prevent it from going it into the wrong hands.”

After finishing with the work, he packs the device and carries it home with him. “Linda, I’m home! Is dinner ready?” Linda comes out of the room “Someone’s home early!”

As he kisses her baby bump “How is my baby girl?”

“Sleeping, after all the mood swings and a flooded bladder she has been giving me!” Matt enters his room keeps the briefcase behind the fake wall in the Almira and then returns to the dinner.  “I brought it home, Linda”

“Oh! I don’t even want to see that devil!”

“It is not that hateful! You can try it?”

Linda “Yeah, right!”

Matt holds her palm “Just once!”

Linda “You are not serious! Are you?”

Matt looks in her eyes,  “I wasn’t until you asked!”

Linda throws the napkin “What is it that you want to know? Do you not trust me? You think I lie to you? It is always about you. You are the one who is never home, running away from responsibility and on top of that you don’t trust me?”

Matt sighs, “No tell me! Why?, You are just like the others.”

“Cut me some slack here, just a question!”

“No, it wasn’t just a question, it is what you think!”

Matt stands up “I cannot have this conversation again and again!” He picks up the coat and storms out.

4 hours later

Matt opens the door. “It is raining heavily outside and if you’re wondering, I’m really sorry. I should trust you and nothing could ever come between us.” He enters the bedroom, opens the cupboard and draws out a night suit. “Where are you? Anyway, I’m drenched, I’ll change.”

He opens the bathroom door and the dreadful view almost gave him a panic attack. His legs slipped and fell back. The floor was painted red with blood. Linda was lying dead on the floor. A bullet hole in her forehead. The window was open. Matt realized that the murderer entered from there and shot her, but one thing did not fit in the picture! Why was the gun used for murder left at the crime scene? Matt got up and went near her, suddenly he could hear the siren from the approaching police car. Matt went to the window. A car stopped and a cop came out of it, Mrs. Bretta ,the neighbor, pointed him to his house.

A deafening sound shook Matt’s body as the door broke. Police entered “This is NYPD, surrender or we will shoot you.” Matt comes out. Two cops pushed him and got him flat on the ground, while getting him in shackles the officer announced the Miranda warning. “Mr. Matt Clarke, you have the right to remain silent. Anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law. You’ll have the right to consult an attorney. If you cannot afford an attorney, the state will provide you one. Do you understand these rights as I have read them to you?”

The officer forced him inside the car. Matt was not able to understand a thing, but did nothing but with numb eyes, he sat on the seat and just stared in shock. All of a sudden, out of nowhere a truck hits the car and firing starts. All the policemen killed. Matt feels dizzy and could only see some guys pulling him out, but could barely do anything about it and faints.

As he regains his consciousness, he finds himself tied to a chair. He could see a man approaching him. “Well, Matt you need to be co-operative or you’ll be with your wife in a few moments.”

Matt  rocks the chair, “I’ll kill you! You bastard! You killed her! She was pregnant!”

He comes closer to Matt and points a gun to his head “I’ve no idea what you are talking about! Just give me the ‘Memory Lane’ and I might not torture you. I know you’ve hidden it somewhere!”

“This was you Simon? You killed her? For the ‘Memory Lane’? You disgusting rat prick! I’m going to stab you!”

Simon smiles, “Pardon me for being in the shadows! As I said I did not kill your wife. All I want is that god damn machine! We can do this the easy way or the hard way, your choice”

The thug standing at the door falls and subsequently the other two, Simon yells “What the hell are you looking at go and find who is doing this!” Four armed thugs start walking towards the door. They hear footsteps and start shooting, a smoke grenade comes crawling towards them. Thugs started firing the gun, but the smoke blinds them. After the smoke clears up, Jacob comes up and unties Matt. “Thanks a lot brother.”

“That’s what brothers do!”

“ They killed my wife Jacob!”

Jacob grins, “We will find out. This son of a bitch is just knocked out!”

Matt sighs, “No use, the ‘Memory Lane’ is at home and I cannot go back there.”

Jacob smiles “I got that covered brother.”

Matt frowns, “What are you trying to say?”

“After you left the dinner table, your wife had called me and told me that you had a big fight, suddenly I heard some noises and Linda crying. Later on, she was begging and the men threatened her! She started screaming and finally, a gunshot. I disconnected the line and started calling 911, but that couldn’t have secured the ‘Memory Lane’, so I went to your home and got the ‘Memory Lane’ from where you usually kept it.”

“I shouldn’t have made that device in the first place!”

“Matt, focus! Use it on Simon and let’s find out the whole truth.”

Matt wipes the tears off his face “Bring me the damn thing!”

Jacob hands him over the briefcase as he opens it, it asks for security password and finger scan. Matt scowls, “What the hell? It never does that!” He enters the password and scans it. Booting begins.

Jacob looks at Matt, “What is happening?”

Matt with a puzzled look on his face replies, “usually, if the device suffers a jerk, it reboots the system so that it could check for the bad sectors if not done within 6 hours, it self destructs,  or after the use of machine it asks for security code of the owner, if entered wrong again it self destructs in 6 hours. Now come on lets do this.’

“Awake? Is he?”  asked Matt.“You have got to wind this up within 2 minutes!” replied Jacob.

“Okay, Let me think of something.  Tie him up!”

“No use Matt! If he gets up whole operation is jeopardized!” “I’ll not leave empty handed! I made this clear before and I’m repeating it. Now, bring that sedative and give him another shot! I don’t care if he is od’d! “

Jacob shoves Matt away from the billet replies “You’re a good damn freak you know that? If you give him  more of it, he’ll subconscious will be all blurred up. Good luck extracting anything after that?”

“ I need to know who did it?” Sobbed Matt

“We don’t have time for this Matt, we’ll figure out a way. Come on, clear the setup and lets leave!”

“Jacob, I’m cleaning the blood stains, you stop all the downlinks and disconnect the relay. Oh shit!!” Before, they could leave, the guy was all back into consciousness. His hand straight away went in his groin  for the loaded .38. He fired the shot  right away.

Matt got shot in the stomach. Jacob kicked Simon’s face,  bents, punches him, snatches the guns and puts a bullet in his head. He goes to Matt, keeps the gun side and says wait, I’ll get the medical kit from the car. Jacob runs!

Matt shouts “Wait!”

Jacob “What? You are bleeding!”

“How did you do it?”

“Did what?”

“Killed him so easily? And all the guys? A common man cannot pull that off!  Unless you’ re not common!”

Jacob approaches him, “Are you accusing me after what all I have done for you?”

Matt “Stay right there or I’ll shoot you!”

“I needed that machine more than you did!”

Matt glares at him, “Now it all makes sense, you came to my house when my wife called you. She must have told you that I brought the machine home, so you took it out and used it on her to give a vision break and erase her memory of you taking the machine! But you couldn’t do it and gave a vision break about some other life event. When she came back to consciousness, she remembered everything, so you killed her and left the gun to frame it on me! But one thing you did not know and that was the security password that is required after use, that is why you saved me!”

Jacob grins, ”No, I gave your wife a memory of being an infidel!” Matt smacks him in the face!

Jacob laughs, “You freak, your wife used the machine on you and it was you, who had vision break, when you woke up you saw her pregnant and couldn’t control yourself and shot her. But your brain was unstable due to the shock and couldn’t bear it so your brain got fuzzy and you have no memory of it!”

Matt kicks him again and again and yells “You lying prick, that is impossible! It is not designed to run on me!”

Jacob “I think you made a mistake. She used it on you! That is the only truth!”

He nods and shouts in agony! Suddenly, he calms down and points the gun at Jacob, “You wish you had not done what brothers do!” He takes a clean shot and blows Jacob’s head and falls to the ground.

10 thoughts on “A road down the memory lane

  1. Ho Ho Ho…. I can see a new Dan Brown (or the first Ashish Dubey LOL,i hope you’ve seen that crappy Classmate ad :D) in making ;).Essentially toeing the line between a sci-fi movie and the sort of plot structure you’d expect from a thriller movie. An awesome one. I’m looking forward to some Psychological Thriller stuff from you in near future. Keep it up man.

    Like

Leave a Reply

